You are here

International Network of Basin Organizations (INBO)

Primary tabs

International Network of Basin Organizations (INBO)
INBO Technical Permanent Secretariat
21 rue de Madrid
Paris 75008
Phone: +33 (0)1 44 90 88 60
Organization type: 
International Organisations

The International Network of Basin Organizations (INBO) is an international non-governmental organizations established in 1994, with headquarters in Paris.

Its objective is to promote the exchange of experiences between organizations in charge of river basin management in such areas as institutional and financial management, knowledge of water resources, training different stakeholders involved in water management as well as the staff of basin organizations, and increasing the awareness of the general public for water resources management. It also promotes the twinning of basin organizations from different countries, including the exchange of staff. INBO and its member organization support the application of Integrated water resources management.

As of 2015 INBO included 192 members or observers, from 71 countries. Some countries are represented by a government Ministry, whether these countries have established river basin organizations (such as Morocco) or not (such as India). Other countries, notably France and Spain which both have a long tradition of well-established river basin organizations, are represented both at the Ministerial level and by river basin organizations. Algeria, Brazil and Mexico, which have all established river basin organizations during the 1990s, are represented both by institutions at the national and at the basin level. INBO includes transboundary basin agencies, such as the  Organization for the Development of the Senegal River Basin (OMVS). It also includes several international organizations and partnerships, such as UNEP, UNDP and the Global Water Partnership, as well as regional organization such as the Southern African Development Community (SADC).

There are regional networks within INBO. They cover Eastern and Central Europe (CEENBO, created in 2001), Sub-Saharan Africa (ANBO, created in 2002), the Mediterranean (MENBO, created in 2004), Asia (NARBO, created in 2004), Latin America (LANBO, created in 2008) and North America (NANBO, created in 2009).